Money, explained for the rest of us.

Get our free daily email →

Amazon’s next Prime refund round covers customers who used 11 to 20 benefits in one year

By

Image Credit: Sagar Soneji/Pexels/

A new round of automatic Amazon Prime refunds is scheduled to reach customers who were left out of the earlier payments. The Federal Trade Commission announced on September 17, 2026 that Amazon will begin issuing payments to millions of additional consumers who used between 11 and 20 Prime benefits during a one-year period. The revised order also raises the maximum total payment for an eligible customer from $51 to $200, and no application is involved.

The 11-to-20-benefit group the revised order adds

According to the FTC’s September 17 announcement, the customers newly covered are those who used between 11 and 20 Prime benefits in a one-year period and were excluded from the earlier payment phases. Their automatic payments are set to begin October 1, 2026. The FTC release describes the group as millions of consumers but does not give a head count.

Christopher Mufarrige, director of the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection, said in the release that the revised order “will ensure more consumers who were harmed by Amazon’s deceptive enrollment and cancellation practices benefit from the FTC’s historic settlement.” The settlement itself dates to September 2025, when the FTC said Amazon agreed to pay $2.5 billion: a $1 billion civil penalty and up to $1.5 billion in consumer redress.

Three tests the FTC’s case page applies to a Prime customer

The FTC’s Amazon refunds page states the eligibility standard as three conditions that all have to be met. The person must be a current Prime customer in the United States. The person must have enrolled through a challenged enrollment flow, or tried to cancel, between June 23, 2019 and June 23, 2025. And the person must have used no more than 20 Prime benefits in any 12-month period after enrolling.

The page names four challenged flows: the universal Prime decision page, the shipping selection page, single page checkout and the Prime Video enrollment flow. It counts Prime Music and Prime Video products offered free to subscribers among the benefits that make up the 20-benefit ceiling, and it does not publish a full list of the other benefits that count. That is the reason the 11-to-20 band matters: a customer with heavier Prime use was previously outside the payment phases, and the September order brings that band in.

How a $51 payment becomes a $200 ceiling

The FTC page explains that earlier payments under the order were capped at $51 per eligible customer. Under the revised order, Amazon may issue additional payments of up to $149 per eligible customer, which brings the maximum total payment to $200. The wording is a ceiling and not a flat payment. Neither FTC page promises that any customer will receive the full $200, and neither gives an average payment.

The press release ties the additional $149 to a test set for February 2027: if payments that consumers have accepted do not reach the required threshold by then, Amazon will make additional automatic payments. The release does not state the dollar threshold. It lists April 2027 as the date for the final supplemental payments, if they are needed, and the case page says an eligible customer will receive the refund by April 2027.

Venmo, PayPal or a check, and a 60-day clock

Payments go out by Venmo or PayPal, or by mailed check. The FTC page says that no action is needed to receive a refund, that no claim has to be filed, and that no notice has to be answered. It also says that payments expire 60 days after the issue date and asks recipients to accept a payment on time.

That 60-day rule is the one hard deadline in the program. It runs from the issue date of each payment, so it differs from one household to the next, and the FTC pages give no single calendar date at which payments lapse. The refunds began in November 2025 and continue through April 2027, so the same customer could face separate payments with separate expiry dates.

Where questions go, and the scam warnings attached to the page

The FTC page says the agency is not contacting people about refunds in the Amazon matter, and that a caller claiming to be from the FTC is a scammer. It adds that the FTC never demands money or tells anyone to transfer it, and that no one from Amazon asks for money in exchange for a refund. Anyone promising special access or a guaranteed refund, or charging a fee to obtain one, is a warning sign on the same page. Suspected fraud can be reported at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.

For help with a payment itself, the page points to the settlement administrator at [email protected], at 1-888-999-8094, or through the settlement website. The administrator’s channels are separate from the FTC’s own, which gives the program one official route for payment problems and another for fraud reports.

What the FTC has not published about this round

Three numbers are missing from the FTC’s pages. No dollar total is given for the 11-to-20-benefit round. The case page does not state how many people are expected to receive payments. And the February 2027 threshold that decides whether the extra $149 is triggered has no stated amount.

The figure the FTC does publish is cumulative. As of September 2026, according to the FTC, Amazon has issued more than $845 million in redress payments to consumers, drawn from a refund pool of $1.5 billion. The agency’s refund programs index lists the Amazon program as its newest entry, from September 2026, among 67 active programs.


Tracking a payment that arrives without a claim form

The Amazon Prime payments for the 11-to-20-benefit group need no filing, but each one expires 60 days after its issue date and may land by Venmo, PayPal or mailed check. What the FTC’s order leaves to the recipient is the bookkeeping: noting which payment arrived, through which channel, and when its 60 days end.

The Settlement & Refund Recovery System includes a claim log and payment tracker and the scam-proof rules, two pieces that fit a household watching for an unannounced payment.

Open The Settlement & Refund Recovery System’s payment tracker →

This piece was drafted with AI assistance; the figures and dates were checked against the FTC’s September 17, 2026 press release and its Amazon refunds page.


Spotted an error? Tell us at [email protected]. We fix mistakes fast and in the open — see how we work on our standards page.

Get the money news that affects your wallet — free, every weekday morning.